posted this on July 26, 2011 11:46 AM
Sending a Direct Message allows you to send a private message over the GroupMe service to another GroupMe user.
To send a Direct Message from the smartphone app to another user:
You can also tap on any user's avatar anywhere in the app, and you'll be brought to a page where you can send them a direct message.
DMs will be displayed with the rest of your groups on the "home" screen of the app.
SMS users are not able to participate in Direct Messages.
You can remove Direct Messages by swiping to hide them in the main screen of the app. You can make them reappear by logging out and back in. Direct Messages cannot be permanently deleted.
Support Software by Zendesk