Closed groups

When creating a group, you now have a toggle switch to make a group open or closed.

  • Open Group: Remains as they are today. All members can add or remove people, change the group name, avatar, and topic. Only the group creator can enable sharing and deleting the group. 
  • Closed Group: Only the group creator can add or remove people, change the group name, avatar, and topic. Non-owners will not have the membership and group settings options available to them on the group member page. 

 

How does this affect existing groups?

For existing groups, you can now toggle between open or closed:

  1. Open the Group tray.
  2. Open the group Chat Settings.
  3. Toggle to select Open Group or Closed Group.

 

Controlling former members

Previously, only members who were removed by the group owner were unable to rejoin the group, but members who left on their own could rejoin at any time. 

Group owners now have an additional layer of control to block or unblock members:

  1. Open the Group tray.
  2. Under Group Members, select the Former tab.
  3. Under Members Who Left, select Block next to each former members name to ban them from re-entering the group. 

 

Note: The Banned Members list shows previously banned members. To unblock them, select Unblock next to their name in the list. 

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.