GroupMe two-step verification FAQ

When you enable two-step verification, it makes your account safer by requiring both your password, and a phone number to sign in. If you turn on two-step verification, a security code will be sent to your phone every time you sign in.

 

To turn two-step verification on or off

  1. Tap the menu button. 
  2. Tap your profile picture. 
  3. Toggle Use two-step verification on or off. We'll walk you through the steps to set it up for the first time. 

Once enabled, anytime you turn two-step verification off and back on again, you'll be asked to re-verify your phone number. We do this as an added layer of protection to make sure you still have access to the phone. 

 

Backup codes

Important! When you turn on two-step verification, you have the option to us a PIN, or a backup code. If you lose your phone, the backup code will help you get into your account.

When you first enable two-step verification, you'll receive a backup code. You can also regenerate a backup code from your profile if you ever need to.  Backup codes are only ever displayed once, so make sure you store it in a safe place, (not your phone :). If you lose it, you could be locked out of your account with no recourse. 

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.